Tags

Unless you’ve had your head in books other than social media, the number of users within a network you can have a meaningful relationship with is 150.  Out of that number that number then drops to between 2 and 8 close relationships.  The key figure is 150, this is know as the Dunbar Number.I’ve got a new one, The Bell Number, which is the average number of social network sites a human can meaningfully manage.  I think it’s four.Okay here’s the list:

  • Twitter
  • Yammer
  • Facebook
  • MySpace
  • Identi.ca
  • Orkut
  • Google Buzz
  • FriendFeed
  • Friendster
  • Bebo
  • Linkedin
  • Ning (I’m with about six networks alone here).
  • Friends Reunited
  • Flickr
  • Foursqaure
  • Gowalla

Those are the ones I know off the top of my head.  Some have fallen by the wayside, some I use still.  But to have meaningful communication with the people on then I rely on the likes of Tweetdeck to manage the important ones.  After that everything else gets shut off from my browser and looked at once in a blue moon.So in reality it’s:

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Linkedin
  • MySpace

The Bell Number (it’ll be in Wikipedia soon, just you watch 🙂 ).

